Pomona's, London 04-2017

Hailing from Melbourne, cafe culture is something I am used to. Particularly at a certain standard that nowhere else has been able yet to compete (Canberra was extraordinarily close thanks to Local Press and Cupping Room though). Even though London is trying to be more Melbourne-esque in terms of coffee and cafes, there's still a way to go.

I ventured over to the expensive heart of the west in Notting Hill for a Sunday brunch. Pomona's is actually delightfully decorated and very colourful internally. There's a small outdoor area which at 1030am was lucky to be shaded from the rare sun.

The juices weren't the most exciting on the list and the Chia Fix (chia seeds, coconut yoghurt, fresh pineapple) £6 was essentially all pineapple flavour with a little thickness from yoghurt and bits of seed texture. It didn't have the luscious gelatin ball feel I was expecting from some plump chia. For the price too it was quite disappointing.

I initially wanted the Buttermilk Chicken & Waffle (with Duck & Waffle coming to mind) but they were sold out. The other breakfast items didn't really sound all too interesting to me. Luckily the specials menu was pointed out and I ended up with an excellent plate of delicious crisp chilaquites rojos, soft decadent pulled pork, a runny fried egg and salsa verde £15. I also liked the sound of the jalapeño hash brown from another special and managed to score that as a side for £4, but it wasn't very exciting and didn't have enough seasoning.

It was an expensive brunch at £25 although I would have been just as happy with the chilaquites alone. Maybe the Express Kale smoothie next time if I really feel inclined.