Smokestak, London 04-2017

Even though my WSM 22.5" is still waiting to be used after 4 years, I am lucky enough to still have the opportunity to indulge in smoked delights. Last year it was Meatmaiden and now I have the full London arsenal at my disposal. With the recent sad demise in my opinion of Pitt Cue Co, I've been looking elsewhere.

Smokestak is a very industrial corner with mood lighting inside or views of the Shoreditch Street outside. Since I was alone, I was treated to the best seat in the house - sitting at the corner of the bar right next to the service counter watching the man himself and his minions continuously cutting, grilling and plating up dish after dish. These people really do work hard.

Smoke £8.5 cocktail had a strong discernible tequila, a touch of smoke, a burnt slice of lime and very weak ginger (more like unfizzy lemonade). I was a good drink and something I needed after the day of work.

- Crispy ox cheek £4.5 - excellent fried croquettes filled with soft, shredded cheek and served with a (?aubergine) sauce. Delicious;
- Pigtails £4.5 - a collection shiny fried pieces of crispy skin, fat and a little meat around a centred bone served with an Asian soy-sugar inspired sauce (reminiscent of the pig bones at Bone Daddies);
- Brisket bun, pickled red chilli £5.0 for small - this place was reputed for brisket and I thought having a bit of carbohydrate wasn't a bad idea. Short slices and little pieces of tender brisket were drizzled with vinegar and chilli (with non-existent heat). The brisket itself was very minimally seasoned, with just a mild flavour of beef and the soft meat texture being noticeable. It was a nice showcase for the brisket;
- Charred greens, tahini, pomegranate £4.5 - greens served with tahini (couldn't really tell much sesame) and black sauce (oyster sauce I think) with some pomegranate and a huge amount of peanuts.

I can't say it was my favourite smokehouse meal of all time, but I did enjoy the ox cheek, the taste of the pigtails and the brisket bun. Next time I'd be more keen to have the incredible looking thick slices of pork rib. The wild mushroom with beef dripping toast also looked good, although I suppose you don't need to go to a smokehouse for that.

The main guy at the pass was pleasant and must have taken pity in my being the only solo diner there by saying hi at the end of the meal. What a nice dude. I'll be back.
Smokestak Menu Reviews Photos Location and Info - Zomato