Sobranie, Yaroslavl 06-2013

Quite possibly my favourite meal along the Golden Ring was in Yaroslavl. After staying in a small hostel and having a good chat with the gorgeous model who was the receptionist there, the stage was set for a nice walk about town. There is an impressive cathedral in the middle of town, with a close walk to a waterside area where the sun shines down. People wander about pleasantly, some playing ball, others more non-specific.

In the evening I found my research choice in Sobranie. The specialty of the house is food stewed in cast-iron pots in Russian oven. Who doesn't like a great stew?

- Borsch (seasoned soup with veal, cabbage, beetroot together with a beef rasstegai pastry);
- Stew of traditional roast pork with potatoes & mushrooms served in a cast-iron pot.

The atmosphere is lovely and the food is great. I was lucky enough to have the whole oven room to myself (other than the staff coming in and out occasionally to move the pots in and out).