Tapas 3.0, Salamanca 03-2017

For my last meal out in Salamanca, I finally went to the one place that was on my list. Tapas 3.0 is supposedly some new rendition tapas with both a bar and a sit down setting. It is more expensive than the other tapas places in town designed for students, but I wanted to treat myself to one meal. And at €3.5-6 per tapa, that really isn't much.

I wanted somewhere to have the local Morucha beef so was hoping it would surface.

- Canelon de rabo de vaca, boletus €6 - they didn't have truffle so I was happy to pay less to not have them. The pasta wasn't aldente but that's ok. It had a good chewy texture with shredded ox tail and a heavy mushroom sauce. A little expensive for 1 pasta but it was good;
- Patatas bravas €3.5 - I'm not sure how they received the accolade of Top 10 in Spain but it seemed worthy to try. They were ok, crisp with quite light seasoning. I've definitely had better ones around (that probably aren't the other 9 in that list). The mayo wasn't necessary but tradition and the chilli sauce could have used a stronger hit and flavour;
- Burger de ternera, cheddar y mayonesa de chipotles €5 - I was excited at how thick the patty was for what would be a slider. It was sensationally rare, juicy with an unusual flavour. Unlike the salty American burgers, this showcased the pure meat flavour with a slight sweetness (similar to the jamon pork aftertaste). It was one of the finest patties I've had and unique.

I couldn't decide between the burger and rice. The waitress said the burger is very good. She was right. I left happy.