Tossa, Barcelona 01-2013

The first tapas experience of the trip was met with much anticipation. Honestly I thought the venue would be more a typical tapas bar, when in fact turned out to be a sit down restaurant. It was a reasonable warm winter day so we sat outside in a specially erected tent. 

I ordered off the Catalan menu which shocked the waiter who couldn't understand why I wouldn't order from the English menu, even telling me at one point the prices are the same. What can I say - I like reading Spanish menus and find it useful to learn for those times that menus are only in Spanish. Tossa seems to be suggested for their croquettes. Other than that I liked the look of the larger dishes on the menu than the tapas.

- Pan con Tomate - complimentary/service-charged bread with tomato drizzle excellently salted and simple delicious. The best version I had in Barcelona all trip;
- Les Croquetes Foie €1.6pp - foie gras fried croquettes with a nice delicate crisp shell & a soft filling that didn't quite remind me of foie gras. Still tasty;
- Cloises salsa verda €10.5 - steamed clams in a gorgeous strong buttery garlic sauce that I had to stop myself from drinking off the plate;
- Tortilla Patatas €2 - Spanish silky egg omelette with soft potato chunks. A well made version of the simple classic;
- Polpo a la Gallega €11.5 - tender octopus Galician-style (boiled with paprika) although the method isn't one of my favourites. Vowed to stay with grilled or fried from now on;
- Chorizo a la Sidra €6 - sliced chorizo cooked in cider. Typical chorizo with the cider adding a slight sweetness, but I wouldn't get it again as it seemed to mask the flavour rather than enhance it. 

Next time I would order Ceps Croquettes (likely to be stronger flavour than the Foie) and the Clams (can't see it on the menu, perhaps it was a special?). The bread should be automatic but if not, specifically request it. They offer grilled octopus, prawns and calamari which I find generally to be safe bets.