La Ibense Heladeria, Gijon 05-2017

Every Spanish town, particularly every costal town needs to have decent gelato/helado. In Gijon, the names seem to be Regma, Islandia and La Ibense. There isn't much information about them online. I didn't get to try Islandia. Regma has a few branches and looked ok from the outside. La Ibense was the conveniently located one when taking a nice long walk to the east coast statues.

I was very pleased to see the words "Asociacion de Artesanes del Helado" as we walked in. Whenever in doubt, the words artesanal always reassure me.

The flavours were quite standard but a good variety. As usual I had a small €2.5 with pistachio and avellano/hazelnut. The pistachio had some nuts throughout but really the flavour was quite lacking. It was disappointing. The avellano was a much stronger nut flavour and enjoyable. I tried a few fruit flavours too which was ok.

Overall it was fine but next time I'd try Regma or Islandia instead.